Seasons

image

Sitting in my easy chair, coffee in one hand, Bible in another, I contemplate the meaning and reason for seasons. Seasons come and seasons go, but Jesus remains the same. He is the same yesterday, today and forever. Always there. Always dependable. His love endures forever.

There are different seasons. Seasons of pain, seasons of pleasure. Seasons of being unsure. Seasons of being beyond certain about what I was created to be and do. There is no way around a season. There is no short cut. You have to go through. One day at a time. But yea though I walk through…. I will not fear, for Thou art with me. Though I walk through deep waters, God is with me. Though I walk through rivers of difficulty, I will not drown. Though I walk through fire, the flames will not set me ablaze. God is always with me. That’s His promise. And He knows what going through is like. He endured the pain of the cross. He crossed from the heavenlies into humanity. He knows what it is to walk through. And He walks through with me.

Not all seasons are predictable. Our seasons of life do not always follow the linear. I will not always know what is coming up ahead. I do not know the end from the beginning, but I know the One who is the end and the beginning, the Alpha and the Omega. Even though I do not know what the future holds, or what this present season holds, I know Who holds the future. I know He holds me.

And so I rest, safe and secure in His arms. He is my soul provider. My soul supporter. Especially through the worst days. I learn to lean on Him, to rejoice always, pray constantly and to give thanks in all circumstances, in all seasons, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for me.

I can enjoy seasons. I can embrace them, because though they come and go, my God remains the same. I remember the hymn of old and I am blessed:

Through all the changing scenes of life
In trouble and in joy
The praises of my God shall still
My heart and tongue employ

Leave a Reply

