It’s One of Those Days…..

Today is one of those days when I am just happy. For just.

I woke up this morning feeling alive and feeling glad to be alive. I was just happy. I usually give my kids big mama hugs in the morning and I believe today I hugged them extra tight, because I was happy and I wanted to communicate that I love them to bits!

I dropped my kids off atMr._Happy school and drove to my first meeting and I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face. I was happy. The meeting was a serious one. We were talking about our country, about recent socio-political trends and their implications for us as leaders. I was happy to be in a room of men and women who are dedicated to their country, who are working long and hard behind the scenes to try and bring sanity to the way we do politics and to the way we do leadership.

After the meeting, I drove to office and sat at my desk to prepare some notes for a session that I will be leading tomorrow on Women and Leadership. Since my pastor talked to me about leading a breakaway session at the Transform Leaders Gathering, about two weeks ago, I have been pondering what to share and how to share on the topic of women in leadership. The pressure was mounting especially because this gathering has been billed as one of the best leadership events of the year. This morning as I got out my journal to pray, I told God that I was not quite sure how or what to say. And a few seconds later, a concept came to me and all my notes just flowed out. And I was happy. As I sat at my desk to type out my notes, I was happy.

I had a meeting with a friend of mine who runs a women’s organization that works with women in political parties. She helps build the leadership capacity of the women’s wings. Our discussion centered around how to increase and improve democracy in our nascent political parties. Great ideas flowed. We had many ‘aha’ moments. I was happy.

I went out to lunch with two friends from church. Two friends with whom I fellowship. Two friends with whom I can be real, with whom I let down my hair. We are a crazy bunch. We are a crazy Brady bunch. We talked about Jesus, we talked about life. We talked about our dreams and aspirations, and what we’d like to do for fun, jut the three of us. It was a joyous sister moment. I was happy.

Today is one of those days for me. A happy day. I don’t take it for granted, especially because I know there is a lot of sadness and pain in the world. That is why I celebrate today. My happy day. The day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.

Leave a Reply

