Watch Your Step

For many of us, our footprints are the last thing we think about, yet we leave them every where we go. When I was younger, I loved walking along a wet shoreline and I would watch in fascination as a wave would come and sweep mfootprinty footprint away. And then I would repeat the process all over again – step into the wet sand, look at my footprint and wait for the wave to sweep it away. I also remember tracing the footprint of a child or other person for whom I was going to buy a pair of shoes. Having the footprint  with me would ensure that I didn’t buy the wrong
size of shoe.

I’ve been thinking about footprints in relation to leadership. Footprints are the marks we leave both on ourselves and on others. We can use our footprint to walk all over people. We can use our footprint to avoid people all together. Or, we can use our footprint to walk with and beside people. As a leader, you choose your footprint daily, whether you think about it or not.

I am inviting us to be aware of our footprint today. What footprint are you leaving in your life? What footprint are you leaving in the lives of those you lead? Do they feel stomped all over by your heavy footprint or do they feel enabled and empowered to live to their full potential?

Everyday, everywhere you walk, you leave a foot print. Be ware of your footprint. Be aware of how you live and lead in this world.

Leave a Reply

