First 100 days….

100-days

I have reached my 100 day mark.

And I have often wondered what is magical about the first 100 days. I hear it  lot in the area of politics. In the US, they mark the first 100 days of the President, and often ask what he (it’s always been a he), has achieved in his first 100 days in office. Recently, in Uganda, when the new Chief Justice was appointed, one of the questions put to him by a journalist, was what he was going to do in his first 100 days in office.

I did a little research on the history and significance of the first 100 days and this is what I found: The first hundred days is a sample of the first 100 days of a first term presidency of a president of the United States. It is used to measure the successes and accomplishments of a president during the time that their power and influence is at its greatest.The term was coined in a July 24, 1933, radio address by U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt, although he was referring to the 100 day session of the 73rd United States Congress between March 9 and June 17, rather than the first 100 days of his administration. Ever since 1933, when President Franklin D. Roosevelt used his first three months in office to lay the foundations of the New Deal, the First 100 Days have been seen as a unique moment–the new president’s first and perhaps best chance to reshape the nation according to his own agenda and vision.

Today, I look back at my first 100 days since I started the journey to prepare to climb the Rwenzori and these are a few of the things that I celebrate as I look back:

1. I have formed new bonds and forged new friendships with the team that I call the Rwenzorilings. We talk a lot, we laugh a lot and we work out a lot. I honor each and every member. I am glad God brought us together to walk this journey together.

2. I celebrate the lessons I have learned so far – lessons in the wisdom of preparing early and preparing long, lessons in sticking with my goal and not giving up, lessons in pushing past my limits over and over again, lessons in developing and maintaining a team, lessons in coaching as I observe our fitness coaches – they teach me lessons in leadership, in being focused, in the role of the leader as a pacesetter and as an encourager.

3. I celebrate the support of friends and family on this journey. I especially remember with the great fondness, the encouragement of my older son, who told me, about three weeks ago, that he is proud of me for all the exercise I am doing, he is proud of me for sticking to my goal, he is proud that my exercise is showing results. Oh, I could have melted!

4. I celebrate the band of brothers who walked this journey before us last year, and who have been an invaluable source of information about what to prepare and how to prepare for the climb. I am grateful for the stories and tips they have shared.

5. I celebrate that I have diligently and consistently saved 20,000/- per day for the last 100 days. Climbing costs, and I have learned that one must save early and save long, not just for the climb itself, but all the preparatory work before the climb.

6. I celebrate each work out and each long walk I have done during this time. I have enjoyed walking various parts of my city, parts I often zoom by in my car. Walking gives you another perspective on life. I celebrate each Boot Camp session, each Cheza session, each spinning session, each Torture Club session and I know there are many more to come. I celebrate the fact that each work out counts and each work out makes me stronger and takes me closer to my goal.

7. I celebrate the fact that God has been with me every step of the way. On Thursday last week, as I prepared to go for the Boot Camp session with George, I sensed God reminding me about this fact – that He is with me always – even through these grueling sessions. He is right beside me, He is rooting for me, He laughs along with me, and sometimes laughs at me – but that above all He is with me because He promised He would be – and He is a Promise Keeper.

Every journey begins with the first step, and I am celebrate each step that I have taken so far in my journey towards preparing for the climb. Even as I look back at the last 100 days, I also eagerly look forward to the next 100 days – because in that time, I will have climbed Mount Rwenzori!

Leave a Reply

