Heavy Arms

photo (43)

The weights we use during spin class

I use my arms for all kinds of things – I raise my arm to my mouth as I eat. I raise my arm to scratch my head when it’s itchy. I use my arms for carrying things or putting things down. I use my arms as I drive and as I work. In fact, I use my arms all day every day, without even thinking about it. And for all the time I have used my arms, I have never felt their weight, until I started doing spin class.

One of the routines we do during spin class is lifting weights – usually 4 kilograms – two in each hand. We hold the weights and do exercises with our arms. And my, how the arms burn! It’s often hard to lift my arms, I actually feel a lot of pain and I have to grit my teeth and get through the exercise.

I often feel like I am carrying 40 kilos instead of 4. I often wonder how I carried a baby in my arms and did not feel the pain I feel as we exercise with the weights. I am often shaking like a leaf by the time we are through carrying the weights. But lifting the weights helps awaken the dead muscles in my arms. And so I will carry the weight.

Yesterday, as we carried the weights during spin class, I thought of another kind of weight. The weight of our sins that Jesus bore on the cross. He was wounded for our iniquities, crushed for our sins. But He carried that weight, so that I don’t have to carry it any more. I couldn’t even carry it in the first place. He carried my sin, my guilt, my shame. He is still in the weight lifting business to this day. He tells us to cast our cares (all our anxieties, all our worries and all our concerns) on Him because He cares for us. He says to come to Him all that are weary and are heavy laden, and He will give us rest.

If you’re like me, your arms are already too heavy to carry, without adding a weight that you don’t have to carry. Carry only what you must. And give the rest to our weight lifting God.

Leave a Reply

