From The Mouths of Babes….

As if the Good Friday climb wasn’t enough, my sons and I and Penny went back to Kyeganywa Hill yesterday.

For me, it was both a challenge to myself and a good bye to the hill, since I don’t know if I will be back to Fort Portal before I climb Mount Rwenzori. It was a challenge to myself because I had written on my Facebook page, that I was going to climb the hill two more times, and I didn’t want to back track on my word.

I still had the same feeling of dread, I still wondered if I could even get up the hill a first time, let alone a second time. But I went anyway. On getting to the hill, my first IMG_2548son ran up most of the steep hill and I envied his youth and energy. The second one trailed a little behind me with Penny. His bottle of water rolled down the hill twice, and twice he had to go and retrieve it from the bottom of the hill. By the time he made it to the top, he said to me “My legs are shaking so much, I feel like a Jjaaja!”

I felt sorry for him, but at the same time, his statement sounded really funny!

Penny decided that she couldn’t make it up the hill a second time, so my older son and I decided to take one for the team. We went down the hill using the back side. The way down is gentler and goes round the hill, but because it’s also long and winding, it takes its toll on the knees.

As we approached Kyeganywa Hill to climb it a second time, my son gave me words of advice. He said to me: “Mom, focus on the top, focus on getting to the top. Don’t focus on how slow you are, or how old you are, or how heavy you think you are, just focus on the top of the hill. You will get there.” I took his words to heart and made it to the top.

One powerful lesson I have learnt (and I am still learning!) during the preparation for the Rwenzori climb is about focusing. George, our Rwenzori Boot Camp trainer is one other person who tells us very often to focus. Focus is about staying power, it’s about sticking to something, it’s about getting rid of, or ignoring the mental clutter we have, and training our energy – both mental and physical to finishing the task at hand. Focus is about staying on course, it’s about the discipline to do what needs to be done, no matter what. Focus is about determination, focus is about knowing what you want and going for it. Focus is about ignoring distractions and getting the job done. Focus is about not dropping the ball, not giving up and not quitting before you are done. It takes effort, strength and determination to stay focused. Focus is a training for excellence.

Focus is a great skill to learn. And I am learning it bit by bit, one day at a time. I also know I need to apply focus to many other areas of my life.

So help me God.

Leave a Reply

