Climbing Costs

When I say this, I am not trying to scare you, I am only trying to prepare you. Even the Bible talks about the importance of cost in any undertaking. Luke 14:28 says “For which of you, wishing to build a farm building, does not first sit down and calculate the cost to see whether he has sufficient means to finish it? (Amplified Version).

Once I made the decision to climb, I purposed to save some money for the climb, as one of my financial goals for the year. I first had to find out what the climb entailed and how much it would cost me. I found out that I had to buy or hire climbing gear, I had to pay for the climb itself, and I also had to pay for the preparation phase.

As part of the discipline towards saving for the climb, I decided to save twenty thousand shillings per day. I have done that every day for about 7 weeks now. I did not start at the beginning of the year, because by then, I had no sense of how much I would need. I have a special brown envelop where I keep the money I save every day, and it feels good to see the amount grow, a little at a time, knowing the money is to enable me meet my goal. IMG_2367

I have come a long way in my saving journey. I used to be a classic “spend-all-you-earn” person. My philosophy was that since I worked hard, I had every right to spend all I earned to the last penny. My husband is the exact opposite of me. He had learned to save early in life and it was a discipline he developed from the time he was a teenager. I often used to get annoyed when he would ask me how much I had saved. To get him off my back, I opened up a savings account, but unfortunately, I would spend all the money I earned, as well as all the money I saved. It took me about three years to get to the point where I could safely say that I had gained the discipline of saving.

Many of the grand goals we have require some saving on our part, so it is of utmost importance that we learn to save. Saving will save you.

The other constant cost as I prepare to climb, is that of exercise. One has to be fit for the climb, there are just no two ways about it. I combine cardiovascular exercise with strength training exercise. I have also spent money on buying the appropriate exercise clothes – light and airy, to take me through my workouts. I recently invested in a good pair of walking shoes, because we have to do many long walks as we prepare to climb the mountain. You don’t want to buy a shoe whose sole you have to repair every two weeks.

In terms of climbing gear, I was advised to invest in good climbing boots, warm clothes, a warm sleeping bag, and of course food for the journey! One can hire the climbing gear from Rwenzori Mountain Services, but since I intend to climb more than one mountain in my life time (yes, I have been bitten by the mountain climbing bug!), I want to own some of my own gear – and good gear costs a pretty penny.

I also have to factor in costs for a good massage every now and then. With all the work outs I am doing, I need the down time and the body pampering that a massage offers. Unless you are a masseuse and can massage yourself, you will most definitely have to pay for this service!

I guess by now you get the hang of things. Like I said in the beginning, this post was not meant to scare you, it was meant to prepare you to consider cost, when going for your goal!

One thought on “Climbing Costs

Leave a Reply

