Running the Race

The Rwenzori climb is as much a spiritual as it is a physical journey. A friend of mine who climbed Rwenzori last year, advised us that it would be good to memorize some scriptures that we will need along the way as we do the climb, scriptures such as “Oh Lord, help thy suffering servant.”

Jokes aside though, I took his advice to heart, and when I read my Bible each morning, I look out for those scriptures that help propel me in the right direction. One of the scriptures I have been meditating on recently is 1st Corinthians 9:24 to 27 “Do you not know that in a race all runners run but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the the games goes into strict training. They do this to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore, I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave….”

This verse encourages me to go on when I would rather give up. It encourages me to continue with my exercise routine, because preparation pays, practice pays. It encourages me to keep focused, to keep my eyes on my goal and to know that I am not doing this alone – because He is Emmanuel – God with me – anywhere and everywhere I go.

And I pray for my team mates too. My prayer style is journaling. I honestly respect those those can just go down on their knees, and pray for hours on end. I get so distracted easily, but journaling as I pray helps order my thoughts and stay in the moment. I commit our climb to the Lord as often as I can. This is an extract from my prayer journal on 25th February 2015:

” Today I say a special prayer for the Rwenzori Team – for Peter, BT, Joy, Misha, Andrew, Helena, Junior, Carol and myself. Lord thank you for this band of brothers. Thank you for bringing us together to take on this adventure. Thank you for all the effort we have put in so far. Thank you for all the times we have spent together in fellowship, walking together, doing steps together, writing to each other, encouraging each other. Thank you for each member and the unique attributes we all bring to the team. Thank you for giving us life and energy to take on this task. Lord, I pray that our energy will not wane. I pray that we will remain committed to the task, that we will stay on point, that we will beat our bodies into submission, that we will each save enough money for the climb, that we will be ready to take on this climb in every single way. Lord be with us. Go before us. Smooth out the rough edges. Help us build our stamina and endurance. Help us stay the course no matter what. Help us stay focused. Help us to stay on point. Help us to help each other where we are weak and frail. Help us Lord. Walk this journey with us. Lead us to the peak and back. I pray for good weather. I pray that this journey will be meaningful to us all. I pray that this will be the beginning of conquering other mountains, physical and otherwise. Lord in your mercy, hear my prayer.”

If you are following our journey with us, pray for us.

If you have any mountains you are climbing, I hope that you find the energy to pray. He sees. He knows. He understands. He cares. And most of all, He loves you truly, deeply, passionately.

Leave a Reply

